top of page

The Roman Tub by Francesca Leader


Outside the museum’s cool walls, the midday pavement broils; lanyard-swinging workers eddy near food trucks for burritos and sandwiches; my forgotten bag lunch rides the route to and from the commuter lot; my husband leaves messages I’ll delete un-played when I return, empty-stomached, to my desk: What’s this $10 admission charge on the Mastercard? Why aren’t you answering? Where the hell are you? But for the next twenty minutes, I get to stand in marble quietude, gazing at the purple-red mass of a two-thousand-year-old porphyry bathtub, imagining how good it would feel to strip down and steep for hours in volcanically-hot water. To have a life in which happiness, however small the price, wouldn’t always be too expensive.  

 

Author's Note:

I've made self care a high priority since my separation and divorce. Almost every day, I do at least one thing to recharge myself emotionally and/or physically. This might be a phone call or visit to a close friend, a walk in the park, a trip to the gym, or a Bikram yoga class.


 

Francesca Leader is a writer and artist originally from Western Montana. She was named the winner of the Southeast Review’s 2023 World’s Best Short-Short Story Contest, runner-up in CutBank’s 2020 Big Sky, Small Prose Contest, and has been nominated for various other awards. Learn more about her work at inabucketthemoon.wordpress.com.






103 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page